Tags

, ,

"And do not forget to do good and to share with others."  Hebrews 13:16

“And do not forget to do good and to share with others.” Hebrews 13:16

This morning I took the time to watch the news. If you know me you know that I had recently taken a hiatus from watching any news coverage because too often it can become too much to bear and suddenly the world seems like nothing but a sad and doomed place to be. Ugh! Who wants to feel that way? No one, but recently I heard God speak to me and say, “Child, you can not shut out the world as if no one out there is suffering. So many are and you need to know this once more not because I mean for you to feel depressed and helpless and doomed, but so you can join so many others to help if by no other way, then by the use of prayer.” I listened and suddenly I had this desire to switch on talk radio and listen. I learned a lot in the course of just a few short days. One of the most disturbing news reports I have heard about over the past weeks have been about the Christians in Iraq who are being killed because they won’t convert to Islamic religion. It hits close to home because it sends me wondering how strong would we be if we were faced with the very real fact that we would die if we did not convert our religion and deny Christ and our faith. I can only pray that I would be bold enough in the real face of death to say, “I love Jesus. I love God, and yes, I will die for that love.” So many out there confidently shake their heads and say, “Oh, without a doubt, I could do that, but truly, could you? No one can confidently say, “Yes” to that answer until you have been faced with that.
Today, I lift up a prayer for those men, women, and children who have had to flee their homes and face the very real threat of death simply because they hold tight to their faith.
“Father, may you protect them, may you keep them safe. May every Christian who loves you and who loves Jesus be strong enough to stand in the presence of evil even as so many have already fallen. Father may you bring them peace and lead them to safe places and safe homes where they can rest their heads and practice their faith without fear of death. Father may we, who read this and who follow you and who long to do your good work, be faithful prayers for the weak and for the stranded and trapped, may our hands find ways to do your calling in our lives so that we may bless others, and may your loving presence overcome the evil that is in this broken world. Amen!”

